lunablossom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Luna's Trip Down The Rabbit Hole aka Luna in Wonderland

On the Sunday before Thanksgiving I went to a pie baking party with "The Witches" as I've come to call them and I was invited by the Native American Shamans that were there to go in a spirit journey and find my guardian animal. I went in with a whole bunch of worries, mainly that I would take an animal I really wanted as a spirit guide and force myself to see that animal on my spirit journey. This was my first time doing any kind of spirit or astral travel at all. They lay us down after smudging us and told us to envision an hole of some kind because the animal realm is under this one. They told us that there would be many animals in the animal realm but the one that showed itself four times first was my guardian animal. I was reminded of Alice in Wonderland and I wondered how many times she sees the white rabbit after she falls down the rabbit hole for while there were many animals in Wonderland, the White Rabbit was the one that appeared repeatedly. Unless it was the Chesire Cat.

I lay down on my back with one arm to my side and the other thrown over my eyes and the drumming began. I had been told that the drumming would last for seven minutes and they the journey would be over. If I hadn't seen an animal four times in that seven minutes we would try again later.

In the darkness of the night with the thump of the four drummers behind me I envisioned my hole. It was a naturally formed cleft in some tawny colored sandstone cliff. I climbed inside and followed a tunnel carved from darkness and rainbows. It curved first to the left and then to the right. At the end there was only darkness. The darkness in front of me was liquid like oil and the animals came then, rising from the oil darkness in abstract rainbow relief. First came an eye, large and brown framed in long lashes, a doe's eye. Then came a strange bird I didn't recognize, a lion, a trout, an eagle and a coyote. The drumming changed then stopped. I stood, disappointed that I hadn't seen an animal four times. I almost cried.

They invited me to try one more time so I lay back down and assumed the position. The drumming began and I went through the same cleft in the rock but this time there was no tunnel. Like the striking of lighting I was inundated by the images of the doe that I recieved. Her tail, celtic and native american drawings of her, her leaping and dancing. Remembering what the Shamans had said I asked her what her names was and she showed me a picture of an ambulance cross carved into the side of the tawny sandstone wall quickly followed by a flower. I knew her name was "Medicine Flower". The darkness returned and then I saw a sepia photograph of an old man's arm. A brown bead and twine bracelet wrapped around and around his wrist. The image faded and the silouette of a Native American in full headress replaced it.

Too soon the drumbeat changed and the drumming stopped. I told the Shaman that someone else had been in my journey and she told me that it was an ancestor of mine waiting to help me when I needed it. I knew I had Cherokee and Shawnee in my heritage but I had never imagined that one of my ancestor was waiting in the spirit world to guide me.

After that is was as if everything was normal. We grounded as best as we could and ate homemade pumpkin pies. We all got sick that night and I wondered at one point if it had something to do with all the power around us that night. It had been our first time in a "circle" type environment and walking around afterwards listen to the drummer and others talk, my ancestor hadn't been the only spirit drawn by this powerful group. So it may have just been another stomach virus but it might have just been good old fashioned power overload.

Last but not least, I found out the doe that lives at the Shaman's house got hit by a car last night. She died. I felt so awful, not just because I recently found out that a deer is my spirit guide but also because I feel like it's so much more than a coincidence.

8:37 p.m. - 2005-11-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

madrigle
supercilious
girl-beth
impetuousme
inaptbeauty
daath
bettyalready
bebelua
augustdreams
bareftgoddss
anthropoe
amomsmusings
thedailywtf
lionwitch