lunablossom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Plea To All Mothers

Some nights the baby will wake up at 3am and scream until I think my ears will bleed. The line of my spine seems infused with lead fishing weights, malleable and distorted and the need to shake her becomes so great I can taste blood. Tonight I gave her a hug and fed her. Tonight I write this journal entry in the hopes that others may hear me and know that I feel the same impulses. One hundred mothers, on thousand, on million- all across the globe.
Does your husband look at you disdainfully across the suddenly huge expanse of bed and say, "I have to work in the morning."
Do you away your exhausted self to the living room to spare your poor tired working man from the incessant cries of a teething babe? Do you suffer in silence, exhausted and alone while the rest of the house sleeps warmly, peacefully with their dreams?
Don't shake the baby.
This husband is the same man who can wake you up for sex at three am. The same man who can drink until 2am and still be to work on time the next day. Let the baby cry. It means she's alive and healthy and beautiful. Let her cry to remind you that she has thoughts and feelings.
Let the baby cry.
Don't shake the baby.

3:30 a.m. - 2005-01-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

madrigle
supercilious
girl-beth
impetuousme
inaptbeauty
daath
bettyalready
bebelua
augustdreams
bareftgoddss
anthropoe
amomsmusings
thedailywtf
lionwitch