lunablossom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just Because I Know You Love Cliffhangers

Wow, I didn't mean to leave you hanging there like that.
"Hey guess what... I might have cancer..." yeah then 4 months later I finally pop up and say, "No, nevermind. It wasn't cancer after all it was just the same old shit it always is."

So now you know. I'm not going to die and I *gasp* can get through the pain and agony of it all with a little thing called prescription Aleve and heat.

In the meantime I've been writing, getting published and working on book covers. I'm rather happy with that. Not too proud, more afraid. So much is happening and so much could go wrong. For instance, I could find out that I am a terrible author who wouldn't know good literature if it bit her in the butt.

Then again, who cares because I'm writing because the stories want me to not because I want to be rich or popular. It's almost scary how compulsive writing can become. You're standing in line at the supermarket or in the bathroom and in that split second that your muse sparks you must write it down. I don't know how many times my butt has fallen asleep because I've been crouched in the closet or on the bathroom floor trying to knock out just one more chapter before my mom finds out I'm still awake or, later on in life, my hubby grumbles for me to turn off the light.

The story becomes everything. You eat, sleep, and live the story. You plan out scenes as you're crossing the street, you try to imagine how your characters would order a latte.

...Or you don't. There are times when your characters lock themselves in that secret room in your head and hide for months at a time. You can do three things during times like these. 1. You can stare at your computer screen, watching the curser go blink blink blink until you want to scream; 2. You can force it and write complete and utter crap; or 3. You can walk away and do something else until you're blossoming characters are ready to emerge from their cocoon.

Right now my little caterpillar is becoming a butterfly... or maybe a little lunamoth. We'll have to be patient and find out...

11:09 p.m. - 2006-07-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

madrigle
supercilious
girl-beth
impetuousme
inaptbeauty
daath
bettyalready
bebelua
augustdreams
bareftgoddss
anthropoe
amomsmusings
thedailywtf
lionwitch