lunablossom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NEW KID? NEW CAT? WHAT WAS I THINKING?

Yesterday as I was walking Donovan to school a little cat started following us. He'd followed us a little bit a couple weeks ago but last time I was alone and this time the kids inspired him to follow for a little longer than usual. He was still there after I'd dropped D off and Mike and Ari encouraged me to try and bring him home. He's so skinny I can feel his ribs, he's got a crooked tail where it's been broken and it was so cold. So there I was, walking down the sidewalk, cat in one hand, stroller in the other. Ari tagging along behind asking if she could carry the cat.
We finally made it home and he seems to be adjusting well. I have all these niggling little worries in the back of my head, "What if he has rabies or some sort or parasite? What if he is an evil cat that hurts children? What if he poops everywhere?" Or worst of all "What if he's so food deprived and sick that i get him home and he dies?"
I kept him separate from the two older female cats all day. I don't know much about fixed female cats and unfixed male cats, I didn't want the new one spraying the house up plus I don't know if he has a contagious respiratory infection or rabies.
Well, needless to say, the kids love him. I love him. He slept with us all night, either between Mike and I under the covers or on my pillow. He purred and meowed and he's eating well. I love his slightly crossed eyes all the way to his very crooked tail.
The cats hate him. Kizmet is pouting, she hates everyone, including the other female cat who had nothing to do with bringing the interloper into her home. She carved up my hand pretty good this morning, lucky me it's the hand that's not int he splint. Why not just hack them both off, people, it's not like I use them or anyhting.
The younger female, Loki is ok with us but she definitely looks like she wants to beat the little man's ass. I think I'm going to have to take the kids to the movies and let them have a free for all. Cat hair and claws everywhere.
That's not what I'm worried about.
What worries me is that Kismet likes to poop on the carpet when we piss her off. Oh joy, can't wait.

9:26 a.m. - 2005-01-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

madrigle
supercilious
girl-beth
impetuousme
inaptbeauty
daath
bettyalready
bebelua
augustdreams
bareftgoddss
anthropoe
amomsmusings
thedailywtf
lionwitch